ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY



Sex Offender Registration Unit

Adult Sex Offender Responsibilities Acknowledgement Registration & Verification Only

The Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act¹ ("Act") requires sex offenders convicted of sexual misconduct or indecent exposure to register and verify their required registration information. The provisions of the Act are applicable, without regard to when the crime or crimes were committed or when the duty to register pursuant to the Act arose.

On a first conviction or adjudication of sexual misconduct or indecent exposure the sex offender is only subject to registration and verification and completes this form. On a second or subsequent conviction or adjudication of a sex offense, if the second or subsequent conviction or adjudication does not arise out of the same facts and circumstances as the first conviction or adjudication, the sex offender shall comply with all requirements of the Act and the sex offender shall complete the Full Requirements form.



To complete registration, a sex offender subject to *registration and verification only* must acknowledge the following responsibilities:

No.	Initial	Provision
1.		The offender shall register all required registration information listed in $$15-20A-7$ at least 30 days prior to release or immediately upon notice of release if release is less than 30 days. $$15-20A-9$
2.		The offender must appear in person within three (3) business days of release from incarceration or within three (3) business days of conviction if the offender is not incarcerated, and register all required registration information with local law enforcement ² in each county where the offender resides or intends to reside, accepts or intends to accept employment, accepts or intends to accept a volunteer position ³ and begins or intends to begin school attendance. §15-20A-10
3.		Within three (3) business days of establishing a new residence, accepting employment, accepting a volunteer position or beginning school attendance, the offender must appear in person to register with local law enforcement in each county where the offender establishes a residence, accepts employment, accepts a volunteer position or begins school attendance. §15-20A-10

¹ §§15-20A-1 et seq., Code of Alabama 1975, as amended by Act 2017-414.

² Local Law Enforcement – The sheriff of the county and, if the location subject to registration is within the corporate limits of any municipality, the chief of police, or the chief law enforcement officer for a federally recognized Indian tribe, if applicable.

³ Volunteer Position - Any arrangement where a person works without compensation for any period of time on behalf of a business, school, charity, child care facility, or other organization or entity, provided that a volunteer position does not include any time spent traveling as a necessary incident to performing the uncompensated work.

ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

Sex Offender Registration Unit

No.	Initial	Provision
4.		Within three (3) business days of transferring or terminating ⁴ any residence, employment or school attendance, the offender must appear in person to notify local law enforcement in each county where the offender is transferring or terminating residence, employment or school attendance. §15-20A-10
5.		Within three (3) business days of any name change, the offender must appear in person to update the information with local law enforcement in each county in which the offender is required to register. No offender may change his or her name unless the change is incident to a change in marital status or necessary to effect the exercise of his or her religion. §§15-20A-10, -36
6.		Within three (3) business days of changing any required registration information, including transferring or terminating a residence, the offender must appear in person and update the required registration information with local law enforcement in each county in which the offender resides. However, any changes in telephone numbers may be reported to local law enforcement in person, electronically, or telephonically as required by the local law enforcement agency. §15-20A-10
7.		An offender who no longer has a fixed residence ⁵ is considered homeless and must appear in person within three (3) business days and report the change in his or her fixed residence to local law enforcement where he or she is registered. $\$15-20A-12$
8.		In addition to complying with the registration and verification requirements in Section 15-20A-10 (listed above), a homeless sex offender who lacks a fixed residence, or who does not provide an address at a fixed residence at the time of release or registration, must report in person once every seven (7) days to the law enforcement agency where he or she resides. If the offender resides within the city limits of a municipality, the offender must report to the chief of police. If the offender resides outside the city limits of a municipality, the offender must report to the sheriff of the county. §15-20A-12
9.		If a homeless sex offender obtains a fixed residence in compliance with Section 15-20A-11, within three (3) business days, the offender must appear in person to update his or her residence information with local law enforcement in each county of residence. §15-20A-10, -12
10.		The offender must appear in person to verify all required registration information with local law enforcement in each county where the offender resides during the offender's birth month and every three months thereafter for the duration of the offender's life. §15-20A-10
11.		All out-of-state offenders must appear in person within three (3) business days of entering this state to establish a residence, accept employment, accept a volunteer position or begin school attendance, and register all required registration information with local law enforcement in each county of residence, employment, volunteering or school attendance. §15-20A-14
12.		An out-of-state offender must provide each registering agency with a certified copy of his or her sex offense conviction within thirty (30) days of initial registration. §15-20A-14
13.		The offender shall pay a registration fee of \$10 to each registering agency where the offender resides beginning with the first quarterly registration on or after July 1, 2011 and at each quarterly registration thereafter. §15-20A-22

⁴ The phrase "transferred or terminated" a residence is when an offender vacates his or her residence or fails to spend three (3) or more consecutive days at his or her residence without previously notifying local law enforcement or completing a travel notification document.

⁵ Fixed Residence – a building or structure, having a physical address or street number, that provides shelter in which a person resides.

ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

Sex Offender Registration Unit

No.	Initial	Provision	
14.		Each time the offender terminates his or her residence and establishes a new residence, he or she shall pay a registration fee of \$10 to each registering agency where the offender establishes a new residence. $\$15-20A-22$	
15.		Any offender who knowingly violates the Act shall be guilty of a Class C felony. §§15-20A-1 et seq.	
16.		Any offender convicted of violating the Act shall be subject to a \$250 fine. §§15-20A-1 et seq.	

By signing below, I acknowledge that I have read the above information and responsibilities and that I am aware of all that is required of me under the Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act. If I fail to comply with any provision of the Act, I understand that I may be charged with a Class C felony in Alabama. Additionally, I have been advised and understand that under the Act and Federal law, I must register as a sex offender. I understand that I must register and keep my registration current in each jurisdiction in which I reside, in each jurisdiction where I am employed, in each jurisdiction where I volunteer and in each jurisdiction where I am a student. I have been advised and understand that failure to comply with these obligations subjects me to prosecution for failure to register or update my registration under Federal law, 18 U.S.C. 2250, punishable by up to 10 years of imprisonment.

Offender		
	Registering Agency	
Signature	Officer's Signature	
Signature -		
Printed Name	Officer's Printed Name	
Date	Date	